Barcelona Bites

In my Barcelona post, I promised there’d be a separate post dedicated to food and some of my favourite spots to eat. I’m a big foodie, so it forms an important part of any trip. Sometimes I feel like it gives you the chance to explore areas of a city/place that you might not have seen otherwise. You also might want to use this as an excuse if you’re dragging your partner or friend on a long journey across town. Here are three of my favourite places we ate at during our stay, all of which I’d definitely go back to…

  1. Obsessions   

St Nou de la Rambla, 149 | Next to Apolo, 08004, Barcelona, Spain

image (00000002)

One word – tiramisu. Home-made (as are all their desserts), it’s slightly different take on the original, with a creamy melt in your mouth taste. It was one of the best desserts I’ve ever had, and I eat a lot of desserts. The Chocolate mousse was pretty special too – not too rich with a cherry compote that compliments it perfectly. The menu only comes in Spanish – we had Google translate on standby; it’s mostly locals that eat here. Make sure you start with the focaccia bread (again, home made), also recommending the patatas bravas, croquettes and calamari. We ordered 3 or 4 dishes each; which was the perfect amount. I could have easily eaten here every night, delicious food and amazing value for what you get.

2. Negro Carbon

Pla del Palau 16, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

photocarbon

Wherever you are in the world, sometimes you just crave a burger. After lots of walking, this was one of those days. The relaxed atmosphere was ideal as a lunch time pit stop, especially for a burger. It was busy when we arrived (a good sign?), but we were seated and served quickly. I ordered the Gringa Burger – onion rings, bacon, cheese salad and bbq sauce. The meat was delicious, not overcooked which is often a sticking point with burgers for me! We also ordered patatas bravas to share, although they were more potato wedges – I’d recommend them all the same. If you’re going for dinner, the steaks looked (and smelt) amazing, and it’s located close to Barcelonete metro station if you’re heading for drinks after.

3. Jaime Beriestain

C/ Pau Claris, 167, 08037 Barcelona, Spain

image

Most of the places we ate at, seemed to be tucked away from the main attractions – Jaime Beriestain was my favourite exception (close to Casa Mila). This was another lunch stop, but their cocktail menu could’ve brought me back for evening drinks. A bit of background about the restaurant, it’s attached to interior designer Beriestein’s concept store. As great as the food is, you also see this with the plates, glasses and tableware. The décor definitely stood out – both contemporary and eclectic, I even felt a bit more stylish just walking through.

I’ve got to be honest, the service was slow at first so it’s probably not the place for you if you’re feeling hangry. After eating mostly bread and cake (not combined), I opted for something healthy, to start at least. I had a chicken Thai noodle dish, the chicken had been beautifully marinated; the combination of celery and edamame really brought out the flavours of the dish too. Sceptical about the portion size at first, it was the perfect amount and even left a little room for dessert: the best bit. I felt as if the dessert menu was more extensive then other parts of the menu, admittedly ideal for me. After some weighing up between the banoffee and pecan pie, I was happy with my choice. Creamy, but not too rich with real pieces of banana throughout and toffee sprinkled on top.

photo

Leave a Reply

