The Best Chocolate Cookies

After dinner, I always crave something sweet. When the fridge or food cupboard fails me, I’ll do some baking. Cookies are really quick and easy, but I’m pretty picky with my cookies. My absolute favourite is Marks and Spencer’s bakery cookies and Millies, so I wanted to create something similar. I didn’t add chocolate chips to this recipe, but I’ll definitely be doing it next time round.

I found each tray held about 5 cookies and used a couple of trays to do two batches at a time. It makes soft and chewy cookies, best served warm (and with ice cream!)

Ingredients

  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 110g light brown sugar
  • 180g self-raising flour
  • 50g cocoa powder (more or less, depending on how chocolatey you want them!)
  • 150g chocolate chips
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 180c (160c fan)

IMG_2927

  • With an electric whisk, cream the butter and sugars. Then slowly combine the egg and vanilla.
  • Sift in the flour, cocoa powder and salt.

IMG_2928

  • Fold in the chocolate chips.
  • Lightly grease the baking tray, and drop 5 teaspoon size dollops of the mixture onto the tray (they should flatten and expand outwards in the oven). Bake for 8 – 10 minutes.
  • Once out the oven, leave for a couple of minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.

IMG_2934

^^ taaadaaaaa!

One thought on “The Best Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

