Lean in 15


Last weekend marked the final time it felt acceptable to eat a box of chocolate for breakfast, other than Easter. And birthdays. Valentine’s Day, anniversaries and obviously next Christmas too. So it’s time for a bit of a nutritional overhaul… As I mentioned in my last post, when my diet’s poor (daily chocolate still acceptable) my skin definitely suffers. Tiredness and the rest, too.

I’ve never been a fan of the 5:2 diet – mainly because I’d never be able to do it and cutting out carbs, or eating a bowl of boiled eggs for lunch doesn’t appeal to me either. Joe Wicks is someone my boyfriend’s been following for a while on Facebook. I’m also occasionally treated to Wicks’ Peanut Butter Chicken. So When his new book ‘Lean in 15’ was released, I decided to give it a go for myself. Plus, being lean doesn’t sound like a bad thing.

The book starts with a bit of basic info about different food groups, why they’re good and why you don’t need to cut out carbs – phew. After initially skipping through this part, I’d recommend reading as it also covers the type of foods to eat on rest or workout days. Towards the back is a secrion on HIIT workouts, which are ideal if you get bored easily at the gym like me and therefore find yourself sitting in the gym car park for prolonged periods… Another useful section is the meal planning – something I loathe/dread/never do. The simple table planner makes it much easier to plan out what you’re going to be eating for the week, so we’ll see how it goes with that.


Then of course you have the recipes, including a healthy treats section (yay!). Wicks encourages you to refer to each meal as Meal 1, 2 and 3 as opposed to Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner so you’re no longer in the mindset of “breakfast type foods” – salad for breakfast anyone? There’s a wide variety and for someone like me who doesn’t like to have chicken every day, it’s ideal. Most the meals are serve 1, which is something I found really handy as it’s easy to work out exactly what you need for however many people you’re cooking for.

I’d definitely recommend giving ‘Lean in 15’ ago, whether it’s for weight loss or just a diet re-vamp. If you’re still not convinced, follow The Body Coach on Instagram where you can always find quick cooking tutorials, videos and recipes for free.

Favourite recipes – Chili Con Avo and Mighty Duck Noodles.

One thought on “Lean in 15

Leave a Reply

